GEA Golf Forum > how to tell if Scotty putter is real?

Full Version: how to tell if Scotty putter is real?

From: 808state (GONZOS) [#1]
 8 Feb 13:16
To: ALL

Hi,
I just bought a Studio Style Newport 2.5 off E-bay. I just did some searchs to check if it is real. One was the magnet test on the head. It is not supposed to stick to the stainless steel head with a magnet. I did the test and it did not stick to the head but it did stick to the shaft.
Is there any other way to check to make sure it is the real thing?

pictures from auction
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330398318363&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123
Thanks Guys
Gonzos

EDITED: 8 Feb 15:45 by GONZOS

Reply



From: NOSHORTGAME (MBATTS23) [#2]
 8 Feb 14:29
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#1] 8 Feb 15:38

Take pictures and post them here or on Golfwrx, seriously. You'll be surprised at how many of these guys can spot a fake Scotty from a mile away, and they'll be able to tell you why. Me, I wouldn't know a Scotty from a Snotty.........

Reply


From: sticks (STICKSGOLF) [#3]
 8 Feb 14:45
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#1] 8 Feb 15:38

If you can, posts a link to the auction if the pics are still up. SS Newport 2.5 is not as likely to fake as a Newport or a Newport 2.

BTW: Shafts are very magnetic, stainless heads not so much...

Reply


From: 808state (GONZOS) [#4]
 8 Feb 15:46
To: sticks (STICKSGOLF) [#3] 8 Feb 15:48

link added to auction.
thanks
Gonzos

Reply


From: sticks (STICKSGOLF) [#5]
 8 Feb 15:57
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#4] 8 Feb 16:08

That's a worry:

There should NOT be a line between the words, Studio Style and Newport 2.5. I didn't think that line belonged there and it is not shown at Scottycameron.com in the SS archive.

You may want to drop them an email and ask if that line was ever there. Could have been used for a few putters at the start or end of the production cycle. Good luck.

Reply


From: xx (BSOBLACK) [#6]
 8 Feb 18:02
To: sticks (STICKSGOLF) [#5] 8 Feb 20:29

I think you are wrong. on the link provided of the listing, the putter has a line. Up above on the same link page are other scotty studio style from dallasgolf. with the line. see ebay item 350303970045

http://cgi.ebay.com/Scotty-Cameron-Studio-Style-Newport-2-5-Putter-35_W0QQitemZ350303970045QQcategoryZ115280QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp4340.m263QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DSIC%26its%3DI%252BC%252BP%26itu%3DUCI%252BUA%252BP%252BFICS%252BUFI%252BIIUM%252BDDSIC%26otn%3D8%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D7709294278460260432

Reply


From: Labdrive [#7]
 8 Feb 19:37
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#1] 8 Feb 19:48

What is nice with a Scotty is that it absolutely does not matter whether it is the real thing or a counterfeit: it is a fake anyway. So, no need to worry.

Reply


From: 808state (GONZOS) [#8]
 8 Feb 19:48
To: Labdrive [#7] 8 Feb 23:39

So you think it is a fake or do you mean that he took a copy from Ping or do you just not like Scotty Cameron putter(s)?

Gonzos

Reply


From: sticks (STICKSGOLF) [#9]
 8 Feb 20:29
To: xx (BSOBLACK) [#6] unread

I see that, but the SS 2.5s on Cameron's site don't show it. My guess is that it was either added or deleted sometime during the product run...

Reply


From: lamchopper [#10]
 8 Feb 23:34
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#1] 9 Feb 0:26

All the tell tale signs of a fake have been stripped on this putter.
Studio styles fakes have flaws in:
putter grip (this ones changed)
paint fill colors (this one removed)
cheezy headcover (doesn't come with one)
The face and the insert are the same color (real inserts are a shade brighter and can't tell from the photo)

Not looking good to me. JMHO

Reply


From: Labdrive [#11]
 8 Feb 23:41
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#8] 9 Feb 0:26

Pulling hairs from Cameron-obsessed :-)

Reply


From: 808state (GONZOS) [#12]
 9 Feb 0:26
To: Labdrive [#11] 9 Feb 11:13

This is the first and only cameron I just got, I wanted to see what is so good about it. What does you comment mean?

Gonzos

Reply


From: 808state (GONZOS) [#13]
 9 Feb 0:29
To: lamchopper [#10] 9 Feb 9:06

So you think it is a fake? It has the milling like it said to check for and it passed the magnet test. Any suggestion of other thing to look for?

thanks
Gonzos

Reply


From: MadMike4 [#14]
 9 Feb 1:08
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#13] 9 Feb 11:59

Those pictures aren't the best but it looks real to me. Are the insert and the face slightly different colors? Is the insert an entirely different piece of metal? Both signs that it's real.

I had one, and I took the white elastomer around the insert out and did it in a different color.

Reply


From: Dan (MONKLJ) [#15]
 9 Feb 4:56
To: NOSHORTGAME (MBATTS23) [#2] 9 Feb 8:38

Or who even cares about the Scoobies

Reply


From: Dan (MONKLJ) [#16]
 9 Feb 4:58
To: Labdrive [#7] 9 Feb 11:13

LOL right on all copies

Reply


From: Labdrive [#17]
 9 Feb 11:35
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#12] 9 Feb 11:59

You must be new around here. Many have been poking fun at Cameron owners for years about the "copy" thing. You'll find out soon enough.

Reply


From: 808state (GONZOS) [#18]
 9 Feb 12:03
To: Labdrive [#17] 9 Feb 12:52

I have been around since the old GEA for a few years.
I have read about the "copy" thing on the old GEA. That is why I wanted to find out what was so good about a Scotty Cameron and wanted to try it out to see what it was like. Thanks for your input.

Gonzos

Reply


From: AP300C [#19]
 10 Feb 7:51
To: 808state (GONZOS) [#18] 10 Feb 12:44

I believe the key was mentioned a few threads up. Does the face really have an insert or is it simply white paint for the outline. If realy an insert, you should be able to slip a fingernail behind the "GSS insert", the white stuff will flex a little.

Of course, this doesn't necessarily make it real, but I have heard the most common counterfit for that series of club is to not create a true insert.

Good luck, I have a Studio Style and liked it prior to getting my heavier Select.

Reply


From: chris (CHUGHES1960) [#20]
 10 Feb 9:55
To: NOSHORTGAME (MBATTS23) [#2] 10 Feb 11:49

Dallas Golf is an old brick and mortar that used to have several stores they know, and do not sell counterfeits Their customer service is good talk to Chris not me. I have dealt with them several times including driving over to there warehouse. Enjoy the club 105000 feedback with 99.9% positive they do a pretty good job
http://www.scottycameron.com/putters/archivedetail.aspx?id=16&seasonID=4
The newport has the line the pic for newport 2.5 does not but it is a stock picture

Reply


Show messages:  1-20  21-22

Reply to All

Back to thread list | Login

© 2010 Project Beehive Forum